CAFE MAISON

I was home alone as usual, trying my hardest to study and about to die from the unrelenting heat when I decided enough was enough. I jumped out of the sweat puddle I was drowning in and googled “nice cafe places lekki wifi”. I needed a nice quiet place with free wifi and edible food. I came across two: Cafe Maison and Olivia’s Cafe. I debated for about ten minutes and read several reviews of both before I decided on CAFE MAISON.

I had driven past Cafe Maison on several occasions but had never gone in. I was pleased to find it completely empty. A few people later traipsed in and the silence was over but the place was never crowded. Maybe it was the timing. I went there mid afternoon on a weekday.

I sat down, plugged in my laptop and perused the menu. I flirted with the idea of just ordering water or a cheap drink but I didn’t want the staff to think I was only there for the wifi, which I was. Besides I didn’t know if the wifi came with a minimum order charge. I ended up ordering the cheapest meal grilled chicken and fries. This right here is my safety food, it tastes nice, is usually affordable and is the same everywhere. You pretty much know what you are getting.

I was working on my computer at this point, waiting for my food to come out so I could ask for the wifi password.

The food did not take too long to come out. It looked better than I expected it to. I am a little shy when it comes to taking pictures of my food, especially when I am dining alone. I took these two images and tried to kill two birds with one stone by capturing a bit of the scenery as well.

IMG_3011IMG_3010

You must be thinking, erm the food doesn’t look all that appetising. Just chuck that up to my picture taking skills.

I took my first bite and tasted charcoal.

I was undeterred. I knew the universe did not make me leave my house to spend money eating charcoal. I took a second bite and yum!

A little bit of the edges were charred, but just a little.

I was nearly done with my food when I remembered why I was really there. I asked the waitress for the wifi password and then she hit me with the five words no one wants to hear:

The wifi is not working

I really wasn’t too hurt by this. I had a nice meal in a cool environment and got to pick up on a little gist from some loud patrons who hadn’t learnt how to whisper.

My meal was 2000 and an extra 300 for water.

Will I go there again? Yes. I want to try their sandwiches and smoothies. But I need to get a job first. I was planning on making this my study room, but my unemployed self cannot be spending thousands of naira on food everyday just to get somewhere to study.

CAFE MAISON: Location:25, Prince Adelowo Adedeji Street, off Admiralty way, Lekki Phase one, Lagos. Depending on where you live, it may be easier to describe it as being located on Niyi Okunubi Street. They are open Mondays to Sundays from 8am-10pm.

Forgive the rubbish post, I suck at food blogging.

Leave a Reply

