I wanna be fit!

I don’t even know how to start this post.

I have been trying to get my body toned without dieting or exercising.  I am just so lazy. I need to get into a routine and stick to it. I don’t even eat that much, I think my problem is that I don’t eat the right things and at the right times. It’s so difficult to eat the right things in this country where the same timetable of (unhealthy) food is recycled all the time. It’s hard to eat regularly- and by that I mean 5 small meals a day- when I have such a limited variety of food. One might think not eating regularly would help in keeping a body toned, but eating regularly helps improve the body’s metabolism, so eating infrequently- and by  this I mean one or two big meals a day- makes the body slow down its metabolism so as to conserve its fat. I am actually quite slim, I just want to have abs, to always be 24/7 crop top worthy mid section.

Enough of this jive, here comes the food!

*Beyonce voice* I’ve been eating, I’ve been eating. I get happy when the waiter brings my food…

This is going to be a long pointless post.

Now I’m not a foodie. Even though everyone goes on and on about how I love food and oh my gosh why are you not fat? blah blah, I have never considered myself a foodie. I don’t salivate at pictures of food, I don’t have wet dreams about Jollof rice and chicken with fried plantain and the cheesiest pizza that ever existed. I don’t even think I eat that much. Okay yes one of my favourite things to do is to go out to eat, but that is not even about the food, it’s more about the experience.  I like dressing up and going out to a nice restaurant with my friends, sitting down, ordering from a menu, eating and having nice conversation.

I really have no idea where I am going with this.

I really want to be healthier aka WORKOUT. For years now I have been wanting to workout. Sometimes I get into a rhythm and workout faithfully for a few days and then something happens and I regress into my couch potato status. I am the type of person to do one sit up, look in the mirror and get disappointed when I don’t see abs.

I also try to eat healthy but that is a post for another day. I really want abs. I want to be toned and healthy. I not only want to look good (I already do, but one can never look too good), but I want to feel good too. A wise woman once said:

Nothing feels as good as being thin.

or something to that effect. I understand the sentiment in that statement, I just think she used the wrong word. Nothing feels as good as being healthy/toned/fit. Being able to live life without sucking in your tummy. Having loads of energy. Not panting like a dog in heat after taking a flight of stairs. Feeling clean on the inside. Man, all this must feel pretty darn good. So I have decided to be proactive about my fitness. I will  post more about this, maybe that will motivate me to actually get off my arse(it won’t but just humour me okay?)

I keep making excuses: Oh there is no light, it is too hot to exercise, maybe when I get a job I’ll exercise more, I need a gym, people are looking at me, my hair is nice and I don’t wait to sweat and so on.

The spirit is strong but the flesh is weak.

2 thoughts on “I wanna be fit!

Leave a Reply

