Kardashians.

So the Kardashians (Kim and Khloe) are in Armenia and the country has come to a standstill for them. The entire population of Armenia is currently perched in front of the hotel the Kardashians are staying in, waiting for a glimpse of their idol (Kim), hoping she would throw a brief glance in their presence or if they are favoured by the gods, take a selfie with them.

I find celebrity worship to be strange. I love Beyonce as much as any functioning human but I will not leave the comfort of my room to go and stand outside her hotel or wait in line for hours to catch a glimpse of her. To be frank, I will not wait in line to see the pope. I do not get celebrity worship, though I can almost understand it in the case of musicians, actors, writers, activists, religious figures or any other group of people with a tangible body of work or those who have contributed something positive to society. But the Kardashians?

At this point, it is necessary to say that I do not dislike the Kardashians. I actually really like Kim. She has been my favourite Kardashian since the first season of their show. I think she is so pretty and sweet, and baring a few times when I think her family is batshit creepy, I do not think she deserves all the hate she gets. I do not begrudge her all the success she has achieved. She seems to have a good, interesting life.

But even I have to ask this question. The question is why? Why do the Kardashians get worshipped the way they do? (Henceforth, I will stop saying The Kardashians and just say Kim, because really who are we kidding?)

I saw a couple of videos of Armenians welcoming Kim, standing outside her hotel, Kim coming out and waving to her fans like she’s Jackie Kennedy or Queen Elizabeth. I did not pay these videos much attention. But then I saw this article on the Daily Kardashian Mail. The Headline reads:

Elderly woman waits three days to meet Kardashian idol…

This is a picture of the woman

This old woman, waited 12 hours a day for three days just to see “her idol” Kim Kardashian. There are at least 10 things wrong with that statement. Does she have a family? Where were her loved ones when she was waiting 12 hours a day for Kim? Were they waiting there with her? Were they bringing her food and a change of clothes?  Her idol is Kim Kardashian? What is going on? What have I just read?

This is not me being hateful towards Kim, I am genuinely baffled as to why people are willing to go to such lengths. Is it because she is pretty and has a nice body? Is it because of her butt? Do they like her sweet disposition? Is that why they are content to camp outside her hotel? Could it be that they once bought something from Dash, and were so impressed with the customer service? Are they just fascinated by society’s latest it girl? Do they like the way she relates with her family? Is it her centre parting? The contour on her nose? Her naked pictures? What is it? Maybe it’s the same reason people camp out for days to get a new Apple product- they have nothing else to do with their time and money.

I find it difficult to reconcile the picture of this old woman with the the story of a person waiting three days to see a celebrity. It just doesn’t make sense. I am trying to imagine her sat firmly in front of the television, watching reruns of Keeping Up With The Kardashians, going on twitter and begging her idol Kim to follow her back, getting into twitfights with those who dare to insinuate that Kim shit doesn’t smell like roses. I would like to know how Kimberly came to be her idol.

In the comment section, some people suggested she was paid to do so. Even if, were all the other fans who came out paid? How about the crowd that nearly crushed Kim in Paris, were they all paid? It’s madness.

I guess there are some things I will never understand.

Please if this is your grandmother, endeavour to spend more time with her. Take her out to the park, the cinema, the mall, the theatre, the pond,the bookstore, the fish market, anywhere. For the love of God, just take her out.

Leave a Reply

