Sorry- Ntozake Shange

One thing I don’t need

is any more apologies,

I got sorry greetin me at my front door

you can keep yours.

I don’t know what to do with them,

they don’t open doors

or bring the sun back

they don’t make me happy

or get a morning paper

didn’t nobody stop using my tears to wash cars

cuz a sorry.

I am simply tired

of collecting

I didnt know

I was so important toyou

I’m gonna have to throw some away

I can’t get to the clothes in my closet

for alla the sorries in the way

I’m gonna tack a sign to my door

leave a message by the phone

if you called

to say you’re sorry

call somebody

else

I don’t use them anymore.

I let sorry/ didn’t mean to/  how could I know about that

take a walk down a dark & musty street in brooklyn

I’m gonna do exactly what I want to

and I wont be sorry for none of it

Let sorry soothe your soul

I’m gonna soothe mine

You were always inconsistent,

doing somethin and then being sorry

beating my poor heart to death

talking ’bout you sorry.

Well

I will not call

I’m not going to be nice

I will raise my voice

and scream and holler

and break things and race the engine

and tell all your secrets bout yourself to your face

I will list in detail everyone of my wonderful lovers

and their ways

I will play oliver lake loud

and I wont be sorry for none of it.

I loved you on purpose

I was open on purpose

I still crave vulnerability and close talk

I’m not even sorry about you being sorry

you can carry all the guilt and grime you want to

Just dont give it to me

I can’t use another sorry

Next time

you should admit

you’re mean/ low-down/ triflin/ & no count straight out

steada bein sorry alla the time

enjoy being yourself

Leave a Reply

