Random

On Sunday I did 20 minutes on the treadmill and 30 minutes on the floor wondering why the room was spinning. I haven’t exercised since then.

The healthy living section of my blog has been severely neglected (it should not have been created) so I decided to combine my attempts at healthy living in this one post. This is going to be short.

I came across a smoothie recipe from GBblog and I decided to try it. Her recipe called for Spinach, Protein powder, Mango, Banana and almonds. Luckily for me my father always has various types of nuts around the house- groundnuts, cashews, almonds. We had also just received a lot of mangoes and bananas so I was quite pleased. Mangoes and bananas are two of my favourite fruits and they make delicious smoothie ingredients. However I did not have spinach or any greens and I have never even thought about buying protein powder. Pardon my ignorance, but I have always associated those protein powders, whey and all that with bodybuilders. Now I know better.

I adjusted the recipe and made my own smoothie:

One mango

One banana

10 almonds

Soymilk

Ginger. I love ginger. It is my favourite flavour. I like it in food, smoothies, stews, juices, biscuits, cartoons, everything.

IMG_3879

When making smoothies I am always so sparing with the liquid and as a result I am always left with a smoothie that I have to eat rather than drink. I worsened the situation by refrigerating the mixture for a little bit. From my experience, banana coagulates when refrigerated.

The smoothie looked like baby goo food and I enjoyed pretending to be a baby as I fed myself with my tutti frutti spoon. I tried my hardest to get a good picture but it just wasn’t working out.

IMG_3885IMG_3888

Abujans (citizens of Abuja) always gush about how awesome Habib yoghurt is. People who have visited Abuja once lament about how much they miss Habib yoghurt. I felt it would be a shame to have stayed in Abuja this long and go back to Lagos without trying this magical yogurt so I went to one of their stores.

IMG_3908

It costs N500. The server blends their special yogurt with fura and sugar and pours it in a bowl. Fura is a mix of flours and spices moulded into balls and it is common in northern Nigeria.

thumb_IMG_3933_1024

I am not a fan of particles in my yogurt unless it’s granola or chocolate shavings or mangoes or…okay I don’t mind particles but I did not like the fura. It kept interrupting the yoghurt drinking process. I was trying to enjoy the nice yoghurt and ugh fura particle what are you doing here?

When I got home I decided to blend the yoghurt mix again to get rid of the particles. While I was at it, I also decided to add some mango slices, grapes and ginger.

IMG_3923

IMG_3925

To my disappointment it did not really taste that much different. Maybe I should have added more fruits. The only thing that changed was its colour.


IMG_3921IMG_3926

Rather than getting rid of the fura particles, I ended up with grape skin in my yogurt. It never occurred to me to peel the grapes. I have seen the phrase “peeled grapes” in a few recipes but I never thought people actually peeled their grapes. I have only ever peeled a grape with my teeth, just out of boredom, right before I popped it in my mouth. Do supermarkets stock seedless peeled and diced grapes?

I had just one glass of it.

thumb_IMG_3935_1024

Stop judging the plate of white bread. It is filled with peanut butter and bananas which means it is healthy.

Ps: Yogurt or Yoghurt? I swear it used to be the latter but now it seems the H has been dropped. I’m sure we can thank ze Americans for zat. Anyway who cares about the spelling as long as it is frozen?

Leave a Reply

