Basquiat!

At first glance, Basquiat may seem like another overrated artist, unworthy of the veneration accorded to him. I felt that way at first, and while I liked the artist, I thought his art was juvenile. To me, this was just another case of “Emperor’s new clothes”; people liking something just because the cool kids said it was cool.

Over time, I have come to appreciate his work and see the beauty in the madness of his art. The more I look at his work now, the more I like them. Mona Lisa, Riding with Death, Head of a Madman, Fallen Angel are just a few of my favourite Basquiats. Basquiat’s use of colour, shapes and lines give birth to a distinct style that makes a Basquiat easily identifiable.

All the pictures in the gallery are screenshots from Jean Michel Basquiat: The Radiant Child, a documentary about his life.  Watch it here

Leave a Reply

